August 12, 2008 - 9:25 p.m.
Crap.
I�d like the record to reflect that I�ve made more posts in the last week than I have in the last 6 months. Just saying. I missed making last night�s post because instead of happily writing in my wonderful new online journal I spent my time composing a painfully polite rebuttal to a wretched email I received from TL, the postdoc advisor from hell.

We�re supposed to be writing a paper. I wrote it and she sat on it for 2 months while simultaneously complaining to everyone around about me. I nagged her constantly about it and she even stopped emailing for about 3 weeks entirely. I had to email someone else to find out what the problem was. Finally, she has sent some feedback and I can�t even bring myself to look in the document because I know my beautiful, pristine manuscript that was so carefully and eloquently crafted is now a heap of random statements, bad grammar, spelling mistakes, and stupid questions.

We are having a battle about statistics. I did something unconventional yet completely justified and actually fairly minor. She doesn�t understand what I did because she doesn�t know jackshit about stats and she didn�t even read the paper that carefully, if at all. So she�s showing my figures around to her �experts�, other Duke assholes, who say I absolutely cannot do what I did. I just couldn�t let it drop. I can do what I did. I, in fact, did it. Now whether a reviewer accepts my rationale is another thing, but I CAN do it. It is acceptable and defies no statistical rule. And, of course, it�s exactly her and the kind the people she polled about it that perpuate the necessity to do bad stats because actual good and valid ones can�t get published because those fuckwads won�t review them as they should be. If they don�t see the same two or three tests done exactly the same way they axe it. It drives me nuts. One of these days I�m going to write a paper and yell and scream about it. For now, I�ll have to settle to silently FUMING. Or not so silently since I�ve sent two emails to TL.

The first had a very long paragraph and a half dozen websites about how what I did wasn�t wrong or even that unusual. She had said in her first email back to me that I can�t just �make a number up�. I did no such thing, what a stupid thing to say!

She wrote back this morning and listed all the people who told her that I couldn�t publish my results in a certain way. In a way, be cool MJ be cool, that I never did! I don�t know what the hell she showed or told people but she completely misrepresented what I was trying to do (not that I think any of those tools would get it anyway) and that warranted a second email from me. I couldn�t help myself! This paragraph was much shorter and I edited out all the stuff I really, really wanted to say.

I�m so torn right now. I want to tell her to go fuck herself so badly. We still have at least 2 papers to write and I worry that she�ll start trying to publish my data without me. It�s getting so bad I swear I�m not sure I care, especially if writing those papers are going to be like this experience. Fucking yuck!

LC is up and I have to get us some bfast.

The WeatherPixie




      
Marriage is love.


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker