September 10, 2008 - 7:54 a.m.
It isn't the whole story.
broke my damn finger. The left pinky. It was awful. A close second to my brief visit to the village of unmedicated labor. It happened on Friday night and it feels much better today. Finally! Still prettty difficult to type though. We had scooted over to the lab to drop something off and when I opened the big exterior door a gust of wind helped woosh it open and my finger got caught between the door handle and a metal pole behind that is seemingly is there to prevent the door from being blown into the side of the building. When it happened it hurt like hell but I didn�t think broken finger. It was bleeding and my nail was all fucked up so I just attributed my discomfort to that. Sadly, I am almost certainly going to lose the nail too. Yuck!

After it happened we went up to the lab and I cleaned it, sort of, and stuck a bandaid on it. It hurt all night but we had friends from Montreal visiting and I just tried to ignore it. It woke me up around 6:30 on Saturday morning. It was excruciating. I went into the bathroom and looked down and knew immediately that something was up. It was all purple and swollen like a plum on my finger tip. I went over to the emergency room and sure enough had confirmation within the hour of the break. Shudder.

As it happens, and in addition to having long lost friends visiting, Saturday morning was also LC�s firt gymnastics class. Yay other kids! I did manage to make it, amazingly. It was fucking weird. We wanted to do dance but it was so hard to figure it out and gymnastics was so easy we decided to start with it and see how it goes. I hate, hate, HATE mingling with other parents. And you know what else? I praise my daughter plenty but these people are pathofuckinglogical praise freaks. Yay Good job way to go Yay great work over and over and over in those fucking soccer mom sing song puke voices. Is it just me? And LC? She just wanted to dance the whole time. Then there were kids as young as 2 in her class and they were mostly crying and freaking out and then LC who shouldn�t have really had any trouble with any of the stuff started acting freaked out. If she�d been in a class of older kids she would have bravely, probably unwisely copied them. There was only one child not freaked out that really took to the stuff and I tried to keep LC near her. It worked some of the time. When she wasn�t off dancing in the middle of the gym.

Not the whole story? Things got real busy when the semester started. I�m teaching every day this week for the first time in my professorial career. But only this week. Next week, on Monday, I finish my stint in intro and go back to teaching just my seminar and supervising research. There are 12 students in the lab this semester so it�s still a hefty load. But more fun than lecturing. Usually. :)

The WeatherPixie




      
Marriage is love.


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker